The following MHPA members have been recipients of the Beekeeper of the Year award. This award is presented each year during the MHPA Annual Convention in recognition of contributions to the beekeeping industry.

MHPA 2017 Beekeeper of the Year

Gary Reuter

Scientist in Apiculture, University of Minnesota

Gary has been at the University of Minnesota since 1993 and holds the position of a Scientist in Apiculture. His responsibilities include field management of the 150 University honey bee colonies, raising and evaluating queens for out breeding programs, repair and construction of beekeeping and research equipment, data collection, assistance with data analysis, laboratory work, computer input and programming, and teaching short-courses in Honey Bee Management and Queen Rearing. Gary is a frequent speaker at various beekeeper meetings about research results, honeybee management, and diseases. He also speaks with pesticide applicators, growers, and the general public. Gary has been a sideline beekeeper since 1984 and has served on the board of the Minnesota Honey Producers Association. 

He has been past president of the Wisconsin Honey Producers and the Minnesota Hobby Beekeepers Association where he has been on the board (UMN Research Seat) since 1983. Gary started and is the current director of the MHBA Youth Beekeeping Scholarship program. To contact Gary click here.


Past MHPA Recipients

  • 2006 Fred Holte, Moorhead

  • 2007 Ray Nicholson, Walker

  • 2008 Dwight Hull, St. Cloud

  • 2009 Darrell & Kathy Jo Rufer, St. Cloud

  • 2010 David Sundberg, Mankato

  • 2011 David Ellingson, Detroit Lakes

  • 2012 Roger Olson, Duluth

  • 2013 Dale Bauer, Walker

  • 2014 Conrad Leggat, St. Cloud

  • 2015 Rand and Joey Honl, Alexandria 

  • 2016 Gary and Jeri Honl, Winthrop